home // baby room

Hello there.

Seeing as my baby bump is almost 32 weeks along, I suppose I should start working on a baby room.

Poor, pitiful second children.

Matilda’s baby room was long finished by my 32 week mark.

Here’s where my head is at this second currently.

Paint: white walls with maybe one black wall.

We adopted a (huge) mid-century modern desk from the house my parents are renovating. It will serve as the changing table mainly, but it will also catch some other surface-required items. The desk has been painted white, and I’m thinking it would look lovely on a black wall with a gallery of frames above it.

Theme: Blech. No themes here.

I can’t handle being married to a theme. Not in a baby room or any room in my house for that matter. I have to collect pieces for a space as I find them. I know it’s right when it feels right.

I am very cheap thrifty. I cannot justify spending much money on many things in life. When I was putting together Matilda’s room, all furniture was donated or handed down. However, I’m over all of those pieces for a baby room. SO. I’ve been hunting inexpensive pieces that will satisfy my cravings for Ingrid’s room.

20140702-143142-52302040.jpg

Ikea crib: $69.99 (lovingly purchased by my parents as a baby gift) // Urban Outfitters rug: ON SALE! for $19.99

Urban Outfitters mobile: ON SALE! for $9.99 // A vintage ABC embroidery for $8 at 410 Vintage in Fayetteville.

Lastly, a wool blanket that was a birthday gift for me from my sweet in-laws.

Not very babyish, huh? I’ll post pictures as it comes along.

I think as I accessorize it, it will feel more babyish. Also, these ideas are subject to change as I put the room together.

But, it’s a start. (For Ingrid’s sake.)

How do you decorate? Theme or no theme? Color palette? Budget or not?

Happy decorating! xoxo

Leave a Reply

